NFL Fan Trivia Quiz

The AP MVP Award: Prestigious Recognition in NFL History

Table of Contents:

Hey there, NLF trivia aficionados! Today, we’re diving into NFL trivia as we take a close look at a popular question from The NFL Fan Trivia Quiz that’s sure to test your gridiron knowledge.

So, get ready to tackle a pile of knowledge and score big points as we explore the history, context, and all the behind-the-scenes action of the NFL’s most prestigious awards!

Here’s Our Question of the Day

See if you can answer this question from The NFL Fan Trivia Quiz before reading on.

The AP MVP Award: Honoring NFL’s Finest

The AP MVP Award, short for the Associated Press Most Valuable Player Award, is one of the most prestigious accolades in the National Football League (NFL).

Established in 1957, this coveted award is presented annually to the player deemed the most valuable to their team. The voting process involves a panel of 50 sportswriters and broadcasters who cast their votes at the end of the regular season. It’s an accolade that carries immense weight within the NFL community.

Notable Recipients and Legacy

Over the years, the AP MVP Award has honored some of the most iconic figures in NFL history. Legendary players like Peyton Manning, Tom Brady, and Jim Brown have all secured this revered accolade multiple times, solidifying their places in football folklore.

The legacy of the AP MVP Award extends beyond individual recognition. Often, players who receive this award are synonymous with unmatched talent and significant contributions to the sport. It encapsulates the pinnacle of achievement in the world of American football.


The Heisman Trophy

Many people mistakenly believe that the Heisman Trophy is awarded to the NFL’s most valuable player. However, this prestigious honor is actually bestowed upon the most outstanding college football player in the United States. Instituted in 1935, the Heisman Trophy has become one of the most coveted awards in college football, with past recipients including legends such as Bo Jackson and Tim Tebow. It’s awarded by the Heisman Trust, not the NFL, which is why it’s not the correct answer to this trivia question.

The Lombardi Award

The Lombardi Award, named after the iconic coach Vince Lombardi, is given annually to the best college football lineman or linebacker. It’s presented by the Lombardi Foundation, and to win it, a player must exhibit the same discipline, virtue, and excellence that characterized Lombardi’s coaching style. While this award is undoubtedly prestigious in the college football arena, it’s not the accolade given to the NFL’s most valuable player, and therefore is an incorrect answer to the quiz question.

The MVP Award

Contrary to popular belief, the term ‘MVP Award’ is not specific enough to identify the actual name of the award given to the NFL’s most valuable player. In fact, several leagues and sporting organizations confer MVP awards, including the NBA, MLB, and NHL. Therefore, simply referring to the ‘MVP Award’ without specifying the league would not lead to the correct answer for the NFL fan trivia quiz. The NFL‘s most valuable player is honored with the AP MVP Award, distinguishing it from other MVP accolades in the sports world.


In conclusion, the NFL’s most valuable player is honored with The AP MVP Award, a symbol of exceptional athletic achievement and skill.

Think you know your NFL trivia inside and out? Put your knowledge to the test and take the NFL Fan Trivia Quiz now!

Professor Leonard Whitman